Paleo Pizza, the only dish that gives me such a hard time!

Ok so when you think of pizza, what picture pops in your head? I guarantee somewhere in that picture shows you or someone else holding a piece in your/their hand while taking a bite. No matter what recipe I try I just can’t seem to get that to be a possibility! I pick up, and WHAM! Pieces hit the plate. I haven’t given up my desire to have that ‘pick up and eat with my hands’ crust, I am determined to make it happen. But until then…….. I have found the best crust so far. Now don’t get me wrong, I am not against eating pizza with a fork, and I don’t know why it bothers me so much but it does.

There is a WONDERFUL woman named Anna Wight who actually lives here in Alabama. I had the pleasure of getting to go to a function she held about clean eating, health, and essential oils. She created a cook book with all her own recipes and let me just tell you, this woman has some serious cooking skills 🙂 While she is not paleo, she has many recipes that are or can easily be turned paleo. Here is the website so you can order the book, or pdf version. I highly recommend it!

http://living-thejourney.com/product-category/cookbook-2

I used the crust in this book, and will be using it again!

**I doubled this recipe, so I would have 2 pizzas**

1 head cauliflower

2 cups almond meal

3 organic eggs

3 teaspoons oregano OR Italian seasoning

2 teaspoons garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

Heavily grease a bar pan stone

Break up cauliflower into pieces and put in food processor. Pulse until it looks like rice. Put 3 cups of “riced” cauliflower in microwave for 4-6 minutes.

Add remaining ingredients to cauliflower and mix. Spread evenly across pan.

Bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes.

I added a little bit more onion and garlic powder, because we love that stuff 🙂

Now for the rest I did my own recipe.

***** please keep in mind I have 6 people in my family, so if it’s a smaller number of people eating then break it in half if you’d like .Or you can just have leftovers! *****

3 lbs ground beef

1 bell pepper

3/4 white onion

3 cups shredded mozzarella (we still eat cheese in moderation)

26 oz tomato sauce

1/2 teaspoon basil

1/2 teaspoon oregano

1/2 cup diced tomatoes

-Brown your beef (or you can use turkey)

-dice up your onion and pepper and add to the beef when brown. Let it cook for a couple minutes.

-dice up your tomato and place it in a bowl and pour the tomato sauce and seasonings in with it and stir until blended.

-when the crust is finished, spread the sauce over the entire area. Then layer with the beef mixture, followed by the cheese.

-place it back in the oven and let it cook for about 5 minutes

ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!! Image

Leave a comment