Because who doesn’t love bacon???

Ok so my family is addicted to bacon, like we would totally get it in a IV form if we could. No lie. I wrapped tilapia is bacon and cooked it a while back and it was a big hit so I figured why not try with chicken? Yes I’m aware that’s been done before, I’m not claiming to be the master creator of this combination but I had yet to try it. I didn’t feel like wrapping the chicken, so instead I just layered the bacon across the top of the chicken. Needless to say, the kids and the Mr have since asked for this meal or my version with pork chops at least every couple days.

Ingredients

Chicken breasts (or pork chops)
1 pack of bacon
Coconut oil

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375
2. Spread a thin layer of coconut oil on the bottom of a glass baking dish
3. Place chicken/pork in pan
4. Place bacon as a single layer across the top of the chicken, because I have to cook a big amount of chicken I use a large pan and it takes the whole pack to cover the chicken. But you might need the entire pack, so if you want you can save the extra for another time (just make sure you date whatever you seal it in so you don’t forget)
5. Cook chicken/pork for about a hour if the chicken/pork was frozen, and around 30 minutes if thawed out. Internal temperature must be 170 degrees.

*Here is a little bit of info that might help with this dish.

-the juices from the bacon come to the bottom of the pan and it is cooked into the chicken/pork like a marinade. Therefor the juice will cause whatever part is in juice to have a pinkish look. As long as you are using your thermometer to ensure its cooked to 170 degrees internally its ok. At first I thought it wasn’t cooked, so I flipped the chicken over and cooked it a little longer and then the other side turned pink.

With this I made steamed broccoli and sweet potato chips (recipe coming up on the next post).

Enjoy!

20130808-114419.jpg

Leave a comment